RSS

‘Chasing humanity’ (fiction) sample

23 Aug

As promised here’s a sample of the book I’m writing right now. It’s still slow going but I’m setting aside time each week now to ‘work’ and I feel as though I’m finally making progress again.

” This is more like it; as I walk into ‘Mike’s place’ the mature scents of roast coffee mix with the hot buttered popcorn at the cinema stand and the faintest hint of chlorine from the pool downstairs. It makes me feel like I’m ten years old again whilst standing as a reminder that I’m not. Tempting as a matinee and swim would be about now I really can’t afford it, I’ll just have to settle for a couple of coffees and, hopefully, some good company.”

The story is set in the not too distant future, where human society is very different yet where human relationships still follow very familiar patterns. I’ll pop more samples up once I’ve figured out how much I can share without leaving ‘spoilers’.

*

Writing Tip: For anyone who is interested, I’ve set aside 2 or 3 2 hour blocks of writing each week and it’s already paying off. More importantly it feels maintainable. At this rate I could be finished the full novel sometime after Christmas.

Any comments, hints, or tips are more than welcome, thanks for reading, cheers, John

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 23 August, 2013 in Chasing Humanity

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
